Reppucci & Roeder Juvenile Law - Dependency
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
Proudly advocating for the rights and protection of children

AZ Child DEPENDENCY Laws

Child dependency can occur when parents are unwilling or unable to provide for a child’s basic needs. Often, establishing dependency is the first step towards severance (termination of parental rights) and establishing new guardianship provisions for the child.

ESTABLISHING CHILD DEPENDENCY MAY BE NECESSARY WHEN…

  • Parent (or other legal guardian) has abandoned child
  • Parent has abused or neglected child
  • Parent is destitute and therefore unable to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care to child

If a dependency finding is made during a dependency trial, legal custody of the child is turned over to Child Protective Services, who then determines the best option for the child’s future wellbeing and custodianship.

Cases of child dependency can be fraught with heartache and concern. If you are involved in a situation that involves a dependency hearing, don’t hesitate to call Reppucci and Roeder for legal representation.

AZ Child Dependency

Child Dependency in Arizona FAQs

What is a dependency hearing in Arizona?

Such a hearing can declare a child dependent. When a child is declared as such, it means the state of Arizona is legally responsible for the child. At the same time, a DCS case is filed. DCS may work with the family to address issues and provide services to support a possible reunion.

At what age can a child decide which parent they want to live with in Arizona?

In Arizona, a child can decide which parent to live with after their parent’s divorce only when the child reaches his or her 18th birthday.

A minor is never empowered to decide which parent to live with or the parenting schedule. However,  a minor’s wishes may be considered by the Court in deciding these issues.

What does adjudication of dependency mean?

An adjudicatory hearing is held to determine if some court action is required. If a child is adjudicated ‘dependent’ in the hearing (the child is without proper care) it allows the court to order services and programs for the child and family.

How long does DCS have to investigate in Arizona?

Once the Department of Child Safety (DCS) has initiated investigation into a suspected report of abuse/neglect, DCS has 60 days to complete the investigation (per Arizona statute).

Learn More About AZ Juvenile Law

 

 

Our Team is ready to advocate for you

Our team delivers world-class legal services to Arizonans in need through scrupulous attention to detail, time-tested best practices, and unfailing devotion to client service. Our award-winning attorneys understand that service begins and ends with them, and we are fortunate to enjoy positive, lasting relationships with our clients, both large and small. Contact us today and learn what a difference it makes to have the right people in your corner.

Contact Us for Your Free Consultation

Reviews

stars
"Wonderful experience knowledge and responsive. Elda and Jonathan were helpful and responsive to all my questions and concerns . I was going to so much stress Elda was great responding to my emails it never took more than 24 hours to get a respond from…"
Carmen Segura 2 months ago
stars
"Simply put, Ryan is outstanding! ! I’ve used his services exclusively for the last 6+ years on multiple custody and visitation cases. After having gone through three less than transparent attorneys before Ryan, it was incredibly refreshing when I found him. He’s courteous, responsive and…"
Dan Palmer 2 months ago
stars
"Ryan did a good job especially considering I didn't have an attorney most of my divorce. I would recommend him, but get him onboard at the beginning not the end."
John Law 2 months ago
stars
"The experience and information that was given to me was of great value. Very professional and with a personal touch. I greatly appreciate all their help. Thank you"
Santiago 2 months ago
Get Free Consultation